What I learned In April

Linking up again with the lovely Emily from Chatting at the Sky for a super fun list of things we learned in the past month -deep, meaningful, trival and hilarious.

1. I can be impatient for Spring to come and stay. 

I waited and waited for Spring to come and the huge snow pile to melt. Melt it did and the flowers are popping up everywhere but I’m still anxiously examining the trees for their spring green mist and waiting for the temperatures to stay consistently above zero. Just enjoy the little bits of green, Breanne, the rest will come.

 

april5

 

2. Kristen Bell is my new girl crush.

I have been on a huge Veronica Mars kick this last month and half thanks to work travels for the husband and late nights playing for the symphony and a week in bed for me. I totally got into the show and the movie, thanks Anne for the recommendation!  And  I now see Anna in Frozen in a whole new light. It’s different then my normal British, early 20 century genres that I gravitate when it’s just me watching something but I loved it.

3. Trying new food is one of my favourite things to do. 

We had Raclette with friends this month and oh,my goodness! It was such a great evening of conversation and playtime for the four giggly girls but I loved learning about new food and eating my fill of melted cheese. I finally made one of my childhood foodie dreams come true ever since reading Heidi and the first dinner she has with her grandfather. Melted cheese over bread and potatoes with pickles and ham. I now want to buy a raclette grill or move to Europe.

april2

4. When crisis strikes, it’s good to have community around. 

I knew this before, I’ve experienced it before but this month we experienced it in a whole new way and I’m so, so very grateful for the people God has placed in our lives. From childcare to using others vehicles to food and more food, to visits and tea to encouraging texts- this was a hard month but it was made better by the people in our life.

5. Going without Instagram for 40 days is hard. 

I feel like a bit of social media addict or something admitting that but I decided to go off Instagram for Lent and it was a good thing. I learned a lot about how much I love the community on there and the little glimpses into people’s lives and the sharing of my life with faraway friends. I also realized that I don’t look at my phone nearly as often as when I have IG, it’s an easy distraction. I’m happily back on IG but also happily enjoying the habit of a little more margin and a little more book reading for those few momentsFind me on instagram @breannemosher, I’d love to connect with you there!

6. The water calms us all. 

We’ve been to the beach all winter long, sometimes just for a few brisk minutes and other times for long strolls and running time. It’s beautiful. Always changing yet always the same. I love it in all the seasons.

april1

Did you learn anything new this month?

15 thoughts on “What I learned In April

  1. Stopping by from Chatting at the Sky. This is my first link-up for the What We Learned. How fun. And I love your blog design, and the beach though ours is in the warm weather part of the country. Fun glimpse into your days (and I just sent a follow request to your IG)

  2. Thank goodness for community, right? That’s one of the things I’m really looking forward to as we prepare for moving to a smaller church and smaller town. We love our current place but community can be lost as towns and churches get bigger. Your beach photos are beautiful but they do look cold!

  3. I’ve learned that anger is a good and healthy thing but only stays good and healthy when you communicate it well. 🙂 I’ve learned it’s OK to take time away even from your besties to connect with your own heart and soul again. I’ve learned that I’m much, much stronger than I thought, and that it really is possible to build even greater strength into my soul and mind simply through thinking on good and true and inspiring things. XO

  4. I’m so excited that Raclette is a real thing. I, too, longed to sample Heidi’s mountainside feast. I was sorely disappointed by my first whiff of goat’s milk – won’t be drinking that by the bowlful 😉
    This month I learned that knitting keeps me off my smart phone. My social media poison of choice is Facebook – deleting that app felt strangely like severing a limb, which I took as a sign that I was doing the right thing. Signing in on my laptop is a little more deliberate, and picking up my needles instead of my phone means I can calm my antsy hands without distracting my mind every time.

  5. I was off “Phone Facebook” for Lent – it was a good challenge to be more present in each moment. It was amazing the “free” feeling not having the option to check FB every 10 seconds.

  6. Raclette is so good and at the same time a fun time together with friends. We have swiss friends who introduced us to both Raclette and fondue. Glad you were able to experience it. Blessings.

  7. I have always needed to go to the ocean to recharge, though I had forgotten how much it centers me until I took my trip back to Massachusetts earlier this month…I came back feeling like a whole new person. It made me realize why Anne Lindbergh’s Gifts from the Sea always struck such a chord with me! Your ocean view is lovely-especially with those two cuties in it 🙂

Let's Talk