Keeping it Real in a Pinterest World: the Capsule Wardrobe Edition

Jenn from A Simple Haven and I are exploring what it means to live purposefully in a world that bombards us with a million good things.  Online, the message seems to be that we can do it all. The truth is we cannot do everything.

We’re two moms on a journey toward being ok with this and fully embracing the season of life that  we’re in–with all of its joys and limitations. 

Once a month,  we’ll share about our crafting fails, what we’re currently saying “yes”  and “no” to, and the beautiful reality of daily life. Will you grab a  warm cup of something and join us?

 

Keeping it Real in a Pinterest World

In the spirit of full disclosure, I should tell you that I’m writing this post, on style, in my jammies. I’ve been in bed most of the week and so getting dressed in cute, springy clothes is fun to write about. It’s also just me writing this month, Jenn has some exciting stuff happening on her blog next week so stay tuned and visit A Simple Haven next week! 

 

I love the idea of a capsule wardrobe. It’s minimalist, it’s simple and it almost solves the whole ‘I have nothing to wear’ problem. I stuck pretty close to my uniform for fall and winter but when winter seemed to linger forever (and ever) I got a little tired of my go-to outfits.

Spring is here and I’m so excited to be thinking about new colours, new clothes and new outfits. This is what is determining my spring/summer wardrobe:

we spend a lot of time at the beach and outside during the summer. Practical, non-fussy but cute clothes is what I’m after.

-we’re going to be doing a decent amount of traveling this summer.  6 + weeks so I need outfits that stand up to travel and that I don’t feel like I’m just wearing the same clothes for two months. I’ve done it before, we traveled for six months after our wedding and I got a lot of practice on wearing the same clothes over and over again. But this time we’re not going to be working and backpacking in New Zealand, it’s going to be a little more interacting with people and I want to feel somewhat pulled together.

summerwardrobe2

I asked on my personal Facebook for the staples of a summer wardrobe and most everybody has the same idea.

Cutoffs, tanktops, sundresses and sandals.

Here’s my capsule wardrobe for spring/summer:

Chambray shirtit’s been well-loved and will continue to be a staple in my closet. I’m thinking over white shorts for cool-ish days and sun protection. Worn with rolled up jeans for a denim on denim look and with leggings because I’m still not over that look.

Structered jacket– something a little more then a sweater that can be worn with a dress/shorts/ jeans/basically everything. I just need to find the right one – a jean jacket or not.

White shorts– this feels edgy to me (both as a mom and as a person, what about spills?) but white is so summery and I love the crisp look of white shorts.

Straight-leg jeans – for cool evenings and rainy days.

Maxi dress/skirt – I have a dress I love and have loved for years but am debating getting a maxi skirt just to shake things up this year. Something long and flowy.

White sundress – I wear this dress over my swim suit and out to dinner, its versatile and super comfy.

Shorts/Capris– something basic and coloured for the days I need something a little more rugged.

Shirt dress– I’m on the hunt for the perfect one, I love this one and this one from my Pinterest board.

summerwardrobe

Basic tees/tanks– I’m on the hunt for a  tee with a bit of structure to it, that fits in all the right places. My four year old has one that I love and wish came in my size.

Chunky jewelry – I’m not a fussy jewelry girl throughout the year and summer is even more pared down for me. A simple pair of wooden earrings are my mainstay, a chunky wooden bracelet or a coral cuff is pretty much as blingy as I get.

Fedora – it’s my Irish blood, I need to wear a hat and I want it to be cute and versatile (have I overused that word yet?) Fedoras are both cute and practical and they go with everything.

Toms/sandals – I got my Toms in red to give the pop of colour to my outfits, they’re super comfy and look great with everything. I have several pairs of sandals that I wear, not very minimalist of me, I know. But they don’t take up that much room on the shelf or in my bag.

Pops of colour – I tend to stay on the neutral side of the colour wheel with pops of colour. A turquoise ring, pink nail polish, red shoes, yellow bracelet.

What are your must haves for your spring/summer wardrobe? Any brilliant tips for keeping outfits fresh when traveling?

 

 

9 thoughts on “Keeping it Real in a Pinterest World: the Capsule Wardrobe Edition

  1. I suppose I really should put more effort into thinking about my wardrobe and coordinating outfits rather than just staring at the hangers feeling lost. 😉
    My main tip is how to pack clothes while traveling. Everyone has a method and some swear by rolling their stuff, but I find it just gives a different kind of wrinkle to my clothes. I can’t stand creases in my shirts. My method of packing is to lay out all my shirts on top of each other in a stack on the bed with arms out to the sides. I then fold and stack all my pants, pajamas and things that I don’t care about getting creases and put them in a neat pile over the chest area of the stack of shirts (the widest part of the pants stack goes from armpit to armpit). Take the arms of the shirts and fold around/over the top of the stack on the right and on the left, then take the bottom half of the shirts and fold up over the stack. You’ll end up with a neat bundle that can be dropped into a suitcase, dufflebag or even easily inserted into a big backpack (I always packed like this in Europe – just slid shoes, toiletries bag, etc. down the sides of the bundle). When I arrive at my destination I ‘unwrap’ the bundle, leave the pants stack in my suitcase and drape the stack of shirts over the back of a chair or couch in my room and just lift off the layers to reach what I want to wear. I’ve never seen instructions for this or heard of anyone packing this way… my parents and husband think I’m crazy when they watch my method, but I’ve never found another way to pack without creases! 🙂

  2. I love this list! I’m purging my closet this year and hope to keep few but better clothes in it. I find myself always wearing the same 10 or so things anyway, so I like the idea of intentionally making a capsule wardrobe.

  3. Sundresses – always. 🙂 They’re my most beloved staple. And I jazz things up with colorful pashminas – they’re so pretty and keep me warm on cool mornings and evenings, AND they’re light and small for packing. 🙂

Let's Talk